I have caught myself asking many questions lately.

Questions like:
I’ve got a book out there now, should I be marketing it?
I love to share my story with others, should I be putting myself out there more, finding ways to secure more speaking engagements?
Do I need to set my own goals, and then work to meet them?
What does God have in store for me?
Why do I have such a need, almost like a burning, to share God with others?
What does this mean in my day-to-day life?

And so on, and so on.

This past Monday, I was invited to speak at the senior adult luncheon at my church. As I was spending time studying and reviewing the material I had prepared, I felt such a need to just be still with God.

So, I went out and sat on my front porch, watching the rising sun bring a group of trees into full daylight, casting all shadows away.

This was my view.  Do you see the shadow line on the group of trees across the street?

img_5631

It was beautiful. So I settled into a time of quietness, resting in God’s presence, taking in the beauty all around me.

I wish I could add sound to this post, because, you’d be hearing a bird-chorus that provided an awesome sound track to this porch-sitting time.

As I listened to the birds, they started catching my eye. I saw a bird land on a nearby bush, and then a second bird would land near Bird #1. Then, Bird #1 flew to a tree branch. So, Bird #2 followed Bird 1 there. Then, Bird 1 flew to a different tree. Guess what? Yep, you got it….Bird 2 followed.

As they flew out of sight, two squirrels caught my eye. Squirrel #1 scurried across the sidewalk, then stopped; Squirrel #2 followed, and joined Squirrel 1. Then, Squirrel 1 dashed into the woods, stopping just at the wood line. I’m sure you are now catching the pattern here….Squirrel 2 followed.

So, as I am watching these animals continue to do this, God gave me a word:

FOLLOW

All I needed to do was to be like Bird #2 and Squirrel #2, as God is Bird #1 and Squirrel #1.

It was like He was telling me to just follow Him one little stop at a time.

And that was just the kind of direction reminder that I needed.

I went to that luncheon and had such a great time sharing from my heart there. I had such a contentedness that I had been lacking.

That night, I received an email with the subject line “Speaking opportunity”. I couldn’t help the huge grin that spread across my face when I saw the email. This was God confirming our “conversation” that morning on the porch.

I don’t need to be concerned with promoting, seeking opportunities, trying to forge my own path, for it looks like God is leading me to the next “tree limb”.

And all I have to do?

Follow.

“As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, He saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the sea, for they were fishermen. “Come, follow Me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.” And at once they left their nets and followed Him.”
Matthew 4:18-20 (emphasis mine)

Lord, thank You that You lead. Thank You for loving us enough to take us along with You. Father, thank You for being the answer to ALL my questions. You, alone, are all I need. Amen.

It’s my hope that this reminder of this simple command from Jesus will resonate with you as it did for me.

