My husband, Brandon, taught me a love lesson using these items pictured here:

IMG_4673

This is a picture of his belt, socks, wallet and watch laid out on his bathroom counter last night. Brandon lays these items out every Thursday night, so I’m used to seeing them then, but seeing them on a Monday night made me take pause to notice them.

On Friday mornings, Brandon leaves before I wake up to meet with men from our church for a time of weekly prayer and encouragement. This morning, he had to lead a training at work at 5:30am, so he was “up and at them” before I woke up.

He sets those items out on his bathroom counter, because they normally live in our bedroom, and to see them, he would have to turn on the light, or rummage around in the dark, either of which, would wake me.

Love.

A gesture that is truly loving another as yourself. Which is exactly how Jesus wants us to love.

“‘Teacher, which is the great commandment in the Law?’ And He said to him, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the great and foremost commandment. The second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself.'”
Matthew 22:35-39

When I saw these items on the bathroom counter last night, it made my heart swell, and I praised God for picking out THE MOST amazing husband for me.

Not only did this most selfless gesture made me praise God, it also inspired/encouraged/motivated me to look for ways where I could love others the way that Brandon loves me, which is ultimately the way that God loves us.

Could you imagine a world where we loved others like we love ourselves? Where God’s love is the example, not the exception? Where we put others first?

Could you imagine a workplace where this happens?

Could you imagine a home where this happens?

Let’s not imagine. Let’s just do it. You know, look for ways where we could put others first. Look for ways to love as Jesus loves. Love the Lord our God with ALL our hearts, souls, minds, and then love the ones around us as ourselves.

Because when we do, we point others to the love of Christ. And that’s what we are here for anyways, right?

Thank you, Brandon, for loving me as Christ loves His church. You inspire me. I love you so much.

